Fatai’s Music

There is this 19 years old kid by the name of Fatai from Australia that I’ve bumped into by chance while browsing through YouTube looking for some music to sooth my soul. I was captivated by her talent from the first moment I heard her strum through those strings to the moment she opened her mouth and sang. There is certainly something that words can’t describe when she sings. I’m also impressed by her style of delivery and the way she pronounces the lyrics. She has this thing that makes her dominates and own the song even if it’s not her composition.

Here Fatai is doing a cover version of Diamonds by Rihanna.

There is certainly nothing wrong with going to music school and learn the rules that govern the art of music, but I’m always fascinated by raw talent because I personally believe that’s where most creativity is and this is where many of the rules are broken without even the artist themselves knowing or even caring whether they are breaking them or not….Notice her choice of chords and the way she progress then does the remix.

Watching this video below gives me the sense she was a bit nervous but amazingly enough she was still able to pull a vote from Seal. Going to music school myself, this is where my main concern is with controlled environments and rules yet being expected to give your best. Some might argue that performing under pressure pushes one to the limit and gets the best out of you. Well that might be true but as for Fatai and I maybe we are fine without the pressure.

She is 19 years old and I understand she started singing at the age of 7. I think the future really looks bright for this girl and I think Australia is too small for her, she needs to relocate to the U.S where the markert is bigger and a Hub of the entertainment industry. I’m sure if she meets the right people she can hit the world by storm. On the interim I’m her No.1 fan.

2 thoughts on “Fatai’s Music

  1. Hi Bobby – are you the Bobby Shabangu who removed (‘edited’) the updated Wiki page of Manhattan Brothers?​ While I appreciate what you are doing – even applaud much of it, I am unsure why you would vandalise such good works.​

    With all due respect, if you knew the history of the Manhattan Brothers you would know who the Junior Manhattan Brothers are. They were formed with the assistance both both Miriam Makeba and Joe Mogotsi.

    Surely, as a self proclaimed historian you would check with the individuals themselves? What about the widows of the artists of the JMB now passed?

    I can provide you much more info but I implore you, if you are going to tell the world that you are out to share the music of South Africa (namely Joburg) and the true culture, I would like to think you would do your homework first.

    Today is the 5th anniversary of the passing of Nathi, the artist who formed JMB. If you knew SA music you would be aware of him – and Vusi Madondo. The JMB are in existence today, working respectfully in the memory of those past.

    Kindly show respect to those who have given their lives in keeping the dream alive. For the record, Nathi was a freedom fighter, working as a youth for Mandela, in the last days of apartheid.. He worked the streets of Johannesburg to help others – right up to his death. And his story is currently being written, one he began months before his unnecessary death. You will see it one day.

    Also FYI – the machine known as the Soweto Gospel Choir is actively killing off South African talent – working people to death, depriving them of even basic care and support, stealing their royalties and copyright. Surely you do not want to add to that theft and destruction of true SA talent? I write this on behalf of JMB – each of who were once members of SGC, working for nothing more than a slave master with the hope of improving the future of not just their own families but South Africa itself.

    I hope if you are planning to change Wiki in the future you do so respectfully and actually research before you delete vital information. I write this on behalf of JMB existing members and the widows of Nathi, namely Mrs Shadi Hadebe. I apologise for posting this here but I have spent time trying to message you in other avenues and it is not possible. Feel free to remove this but I would like to ask that you leave the JMB edit as is. They have earned it – and if MaMakeba herself has approved it, who can argue that?

    Feel free to ask for more info – we are happy to provide it – photos included – I am certain you would be interested. Including a photo with the remaining Manhattan Brothers at the time of the filming of Drum.

    Veritas (mother-in-law of Nathi)

    Like

Leave a Reply

